Ready for Rejection?

Rejection sucks! Whether it’s from another person, your boss, or anyone else – rejection sucks! This past year has been a boon for me in terms of rejection.

I’ve got a file I keep of all submitted stories and queries. I’ve got over 40 rejections with only 1 acceptance! I’m not the greatest with math, but the percentage of my work accepted is pretty dang low. I thought about it and there are a few reasons why I’ve experienced so many “no” emails and only one “yes” email.

My first and most important thought is my writing needs to be better. I don’t blame others for my failings. I own my shortcomings and learn from them. I do think my writing needs improvement. I work on it almost daily. I’ve gone to a writer’s conference earlier this year and I work on the craft much more now than I ever have. I can see improvement in how I write from a year ago. I’m positive if I continue to hone my craft, I’ll get better as I practice. It’s kinda like running. I can’t go out and run a marathon if I don’t start training. I have to build up my body in order to run the race. Writing is the same way. If I work at it and learn my failings, I can grow and be a better writer.

I’ve mentioned this before, but in one of the rejections I received for a manuscript, the publisher was kind enough to offer a few critiques. The one that’s stuck out with me was “you can write, but you can do better.” It was validation that I’ve got some talent but could still learn a lot more. I was grateful to get such a response.

Second, maybe I’ve been sending it to the wrong places. I’ve targeted the major markets (Daily Science Fiction, Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show, Nightmare Magazine, etc) hoping to break through and grace their publications. Nope, not this year. And that’s fine. It’s a learning experience. Fortunately I don’t need to sell stories in order to support my family. Looking at magazines and journals that don’t pay pro rates might be where I need to focus. It would help build an audience and get my name exposed to more and more readers.

Lastly, and this ties in with the second, is that I’m incorrectly identifying my stories and sending them to the wrong places. It’s possible my work doesn’t fit their magazines at all and I need to look for other sources to get my name out there. I need to reevaluate my stories and where I send them in order to find better matches.

I believe in my work. I trust I have some amount of skill. More importantly I enjoy writing stories. When I get so involved in writing that I can see the characters as vivid as if they were standing in front of me and hear them speaking to each other, that’s when it’s the absolute best. There is nothing like it.

I’ll continue to submit stories. I’ll keep sending queries. Maybe this time next year, I’ll have another list of rejection but a few more acceptances. I won’t know unless I try.

8 thoughts on “Ready for Rejection?”

  1. I have also noticed a difference in your writing. It comes together better it has in the past and your grammar and punctuation is better. I am very proud of you and your determination to keep going even when the deck is stacked against you. Write On!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jason,

    Hello, how are you? I saw the link to this article on Google+. & gave it “+1” as Some’n Unique Magazine, LLC… my online magazine. I’ve been browsing your WP, and you have some great work. I’m looking for more aspiring writers to join the magazine… I would like to discuss this more with you if you’re interested.

    We focus on;
    Family Relations ~ Creative & Literary Arts ~ Cultural Music ~ Social/World Events ~ Relationships ~ Entrepreneurship ~ Spirituality & more

    Email me at…
    fkennethtaylor@yahoo.com – OR – uniqueonlinemag@yahoo.com

    Take a moment to explore our website
    http://uniqueonlinemag.wix.com/1sum

    Best to you,
    F. Kenneth Taylor

    Like

  3. I see rejection as a life lesson to keep growing and improving my writing skills. If i didn’t experience any, i wouldn’t see the need to stop and think where the improvements and changes might be needed. I may not even be aware of such need, but If we can turn rejection into something positive, it will benefit us at the long run.It’ll grows us and will make us better than we are today!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When you fully believe in your ability and have the passion behind it, you can succeed. Of course you need to have the skill but when you add passion and drive, the only limitation is yourself.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

