2015 in Reading

As the new year gets underway, it’s time to share the books from 2015 that kept me entertained and made me think. The list below contains all the books I read this past year. It’s actually shorter than I planned. I did stay busier writing more than I ever have before which took up a lot of my reading time. I guess that’s a fair trade-off!

Other than the books listed, I’ve also been a devoted reader of Daily Science Fiction and Every Day Fiction. I’ve been looking for a horror version of these daily flash fiction sites but have come up empty so far. If you know of any, please share in the comments below or send me an email. I’d love to add that to my daily reading!

Here are my 2015 books in order of when I read them.

John Scalzi: The Last Colony.
George R.R. Martin: Clash of Kings
Stephen King: The Eyes of the Dragon
Phillip K. Dick: The Defenders
David Farland: Sweetly the Dragon Dreams
Stephen Brophy: The Villain’s Sidekick
Apryl Baker: The Ghost Files
Clive Barker: The Damnation Game
Tracy Stewart: Thriller – The Lake Murders
Ann Leckie: Ancillary Justice
Brandon Sanderson: Firefight
Jennifer Foehner Wells: Fluency
Jack McDevitt: Ancient Shores
J.A. Konrath: Horror Stories
John Scalzi: Agent to the Stars
Dean Koontz: Hideaway
Angie Fox: Southern Spirits
Joel Ansel: Four Dead Ones
K.R. Griffiths: Panic (Wildfire Chronicles Book 1)

Besides the well known authors like Stephen King, Brandon Sanderson, and John Scalzi, I was quite impressed by “Fluency” from Jennifer Foehner Wells. I highly recommend it if you like space dramas with vivid action. Jack McDevitt’s “Ancient Shores” was an excellent, thrilling tale of aliens and Native Americans. And J.A. Konrath…wow! He’s got a twisted side to him for sure! I loved those stories.

My choice of books this past year relied on my mood at the time. I switched from sci-fi to fantasy to horror and back. The only one that doesn’t fit that pattern is “Southern Spirits” by Angie Fox. I was given the book by Angie (it’s signed as well!) so I figured I owed it to her to read it. Though it’s not my type of book (a supernatural cozy mystery) I did enjoy it and was a welcome break from my other reading.

Have you read any of these? What would you suggest for the upcoming year? Leave your suggestions below and we’ll see if we can all broaden our reading in the new year.

Thanks!

 

 

2 thoughts on “2015 in Reading”

Leave a Reply

