Scalzi to the Rescue

I’ve been in a reading slump lately. I’ve been keeping track of what novels I’ve read the past few years in a file just so I can go back at the end of the year and see where my reading tastes have taken me. This time last year I had 9 novels under my belt and about to tackle Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie. My list so far is lacking. I’ve read 2 books. 2!

I’m in the middle of Stephen King’s Revival and I enjoy the direction of the story so far. Buuut, I can’t seem to really get into it. It’s been tough to get back to. I can’t put my finger on why.

I needed something else to read. I had to get engrossed in a story. So I turned to the only author I can read without it feeling like I’m reading – John Scalzi.

Scalzi has an excellent grasp of the craft. His words flow. I mean they flow! I enjoy horror and fantasy but the scifi Scalzi offers is brilliantly written. I’ve read Old Man’s WarThe Ghost Brigades, and The Last Colony from his Old Man’s War series as well as Agent to the Stars and devoured them like a peanut butter covered chocolate bar. His writing is well researched, planned, and delivered.

His style and content isn’t for everyone. I’m not going to hate if you don’t like his writing or his politics. It’s not like I agree with everything he says and I don’t have to in order to appreciate his art. I respect his opinions and desire to share them with his fans. Find him on Twitter if you want an entertaining and informative read.

What I appreciate most is his writing. I can read his books unlike any other author. He’s probably become my favorite author in the past few years and I’ve tried sharing his work with others that would appreciate it.

human-divisionWhen I opened Scalzi’s The Human Division the other day, reading felt right again. Before I knew it, I was 60 pages in and eager to continue. I was transported to the universe of green skin and BrainPals. And I loved it! My faith in reading was renewed.

My reading list will probably move faster now. I needed “Scalzi-Therapy” to get back on track.

When your reading gets in a rut, who is your go-to author? Who can you read and immediately be engrossed in their world? Share your favorites below. Maybe we can inspire each other to find new and exciting worlds to explore.


 

A few things to share.

I’ll be at the Book House in St. Louis Sat. April 9th for my very first book signing! If you’re in the area please stop by. The event will be from 1-3PM and there will be refreshments. It’s a family friendly event and everyone is welcome.

One of my stories will be on a podcast! One of my original stories from (Almost) Average Anthology was selected for an excellent flash fiction podcast. Watch my blog or my website or Twitter for more details as they come along.

I will be at the Indie Book Fair in St. Louis on May 7th. Come meet me and 50 or so other authors at the main branch of the St. Louis library. I’ll be doing a reading from my book as well.

And finally…I’ve recently added Contamination to my list of events. I will be at the horror/scifi con in St. Louis from June 17th-19th. It will be the largest event for me so far! Follow the blog, check my website, or find me on Twitter to get all the details.

Whew! I think that’s it for now. Lots of stuff going on. I hope you can join me along the way. I appreciate all your support!

One thought on “Scalzi to the Rescue

  1. Pingback: Mingling With Celebrity – (Almost) Average

Leave a Reply

