Enter the Dark

Psst…I write dark fiction. Most of my stories don’t end well. I don’t know exactly when the twists and turns in my stories started leaning towards the dark side. Growing up I always associated myself with the good guys. Whenever my brother and I would get new Star Wars figures I’d have the good guys and he’d have Darth Vader and the bad guys. Playing GI Joe I’d have all the Joes and he’d have Cobra. Same with Transformers. I’d have the Autobots and he’d have the Decepticons. I gravitated to the good guys because I felt “they were my people.”

But as I continue to write, my stories often have a dark theme. I don’t normally dwell in extreme horror with hacking and slashing. There’s a place for that however it’s not what I write. Instead my stories are more like the Twilight Zone or Creepshow. But why feature the dark side of life instead of celebrating the triumphs and good times of life?

Actually I think I do just that.

My stories often feature characters that end up doing something evil or lose something valuable. Following their struggles is cathartic. It helps those of us that don’t find ourselves in those crazy situations feel better about ourselves because we aren’t them! We get to live on when the story is over. We get to learn the lesson left behind by the character.

Not that I enjoy siding with the bad guy, but they serve a purpose. They always have. If you look at great storytelling, a compelling villain is almost always more interesting than the hero. They do things we won’t. They embrace their dark side and act on it while we tend to mute those instincts for a good reason!

Our world is filled with evil. Watch the news and you’ll see enough to last a lifetime. Why read about it? Because we can observe it knowing it’s not real and when we close the book, the evil doesn’t exist. Sure the echoes remain in our minds. Good stories stick with you. But unlike the evil we face daily, it’s created for us to experience in a safe way.

By doing that, we celebrate the good in life. We can honor the hero knowing how bad “bad” can be. So come on in and enjoy the experience, my stories are waiting for you!

to lean towards the dark side. Growing up I always associated myself with the good guys. Whenever my brother and I would get new Star Wars figures I’d have the good guys and he’d have Darth Vader and the bad guys. Playing GI Joe I’d have all the Joes and he’d have Cobra. Same with Transformers. I’d have the Autobots and he’d have the Decepticons. I gravitated to the good guys because I felt “they were my people.”

But as I continue to write, my stories often have a dark theme. I don’t normally dwell in extreme horror with hacking and slashing. There’s a place for that however it’s not what I write. Instead my stories are more like the Twilight Zone or Creepshow. But why feature the dark side of life instead of celebrating the triumphs and good times of life?

Actually I think I do just that.

My stories often feature characters that end up doing something evil or lose something valuable. Following their struggles is cathartic. It helps those of us that don’t find ourselves in those crazy situations feel better about ourselves because we aren’t them! We get to live on when the story is over. We get to learn the lesson left behind by the character.

Not that I enjoy siding with the bad guy, but they serve a purpose. They always have. If you look at great storytelling, a compelling villain is almost always more interesting than the hero. They do things we won’t. They embrace their dark side and act on it while we tend to mute those instincts for a good reason!

Our world is filled with evil. Watch the news and you’ll see enough to last a lifetime. Why read about it? Because we can observe it knowing it’s not real and when we close the book, the evil doesn’t exist. Sure the echoes remain in our minds. Good stories stick with you. But unlike the evil we face daily, it’s created for us to experience in a safe way.

By doing that, we celebrate the good in life. We can honor the hero knowing how bad “bad” can be. So come on in and enjoy the experience, my stories are waiting for you!


I’ll be at Contamination in St. Louis from June 17-19, 2016. It’s a horror/scifi/pop culture convention featuring actors, writers, and vendors of all kinds of fun stuff. Come on out and say hi, buy a book or two, and browse all the other great events. Hope to see you there!

Oh, if you bought my book from me or from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or iBooks, please leave an honest review. The more I get the easier it is for new readers to discover my work. Thanks in advance for your help!

 

 

One thought on “Enter the Dark”

Leave a Reply

