Author Interview: Alvin Atwater

Hello! Today I’m pleased to present an author interview with Alvin Atwater. He’s written a couple novels released The Destined on July 12th. He was kind enough to subject himself to a few questions to get you the reader acquainted with him. Please show him some love and read on and look for The Destined out now!


Tell us a little about yourself: I’m Alvin Atwater, 25 years old, Florida-born, Florida-reared, serviceman (Navy). And well, I hope to become your name-brand author, especially for urban fantasies. (Typically those with male protagonists.)

Tell us your latest news: I’ll be returning from deployment soon! Can’t wait. And my book, The Destined is going to be released nationwide on July 12th 2016. I was supposed to have a signing, but I’d have to push that back until deployment ends.

That makes sense. Hopefully you’ll be back sooner rather than later! So when and why did you begin writing? I’ve been writing since I was a child BUT began seriously writing back when I was in the eleventh grade. The signs were all there: my work was always read before the class, my English teacher asked me to rewrite the play, I scored both a 6 and a 5.5 on the Florida writing test (6 is the highest) and generally had an infinite imagination. Not going to lie, I felt it to be weird at first but often enough, it turned boring real life into fodder. Fodder to be able to create stories out of nothing, no inspiration, just to cure boredom. Suddenly living in the country with no internet didn’t seem so bad.

When did you first consider yourself a writer? I kind of accidentally answered that in the last question, funny, but the eleventh grade when I began to take it seriously.

What inspired you to write your first book? Honestly, the very first one was simply brain storming a world, ideas, powers, and a bond between a couple, brought together and shaped into a story.

Do you have a specific writing style? First person POV is my all-time favorite style but sometimes, I’d take a tiny stroll into the 3rd person limited side. It’s similar to first person in its own way.

How do you come up with the title of your books? With Fragment I came up with this title right in the middle of the book during a special moment when the character names the blade. It was during a heated time, where death was imminent.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? For Fragment, it’s the super-underdog can stand just as tall as the others.

How much of the book is realistic? Fragment is fantasy but the world is real. Pretty much a view into the Greek era.

What books have influenced your life most? Hmmm, Well, I’m currently reading up the Demon Accord series by John Conroe. The main character, Chris has motivated me to have a need to go to the gym. I listen to my audiobooks while I work out.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Kevin Hearne all the way.

What book are you reading now? Executable from the Demon Accord series.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? I’m still journeying through the list of authors, sticking mainly to just Urban Fantasy.

What are your current projects? Demi (working title), Fragment Book 2, The Destined Book 2, Kill the Hero, possibly Mind Control (episodes 8-16), and many more.

Wow, that’s a lot on your plate! Looks like we’ll be seeing a lot of your work in the future.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. God, without a doubt.

Do you see writing as a career? Yes, though it’s challenging.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Yes, I would form it from what I learn reading and listening to my favorite authors.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? To be honest, I don’t. It may have come from watching TV, reading, imagination and then finally deciding to place my own ideas.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? Here is an exert from Demi:

“Don’t act like you’re too drunk to recognize me, Epex,” she said, walking toward me, a supermodel-like prep in her step.

I gazed at her for real this time, barely snapping out of my sloppiness, realizing whom I spoke with. If she found me already then that meant my location was discovered, so soon. But how? Maybe the ascending left an obvious mark of power use, as it faded? How could I be so careless? “Eight years and you can’t even explain to yourself to your fiancée.” I burped in response, the nice and long beer belch. “Ew. Let me fix this.” She snapped her fingers causing heavenly light to briefly surround me. All of my drunkenness faded, leaving me fully aware, alert, and oh shit this is bad. Amelia, my pre-determined “love” of destiny had come for me.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Motivation. I’ve actually gotten into a war with Writer’s Block for Demi. The core idea is there but I sort of lost direction to where I want to go with the story. I’d love to locate some beta readers willing to give their opinion.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Kevin Hearne. In Iron Druid Chronicles, he is funny, epic, realistic and impressive. The Iron Druid series is my favorite of all time.

Who designed the covers? Fragment’s cover was made by Yvonne Nikolova. The Destined’s covers were made by Tate Publishing staff.

What was the hardest part of writing your book? For Demi, it was a breeze until I hit the writer’s block. I’m torn between giving it: the urban fantasy coat but slipping too close to Dresden Files or keeping what I had going on for the first 15 or so chapters but somehow make events happen without appearing to be out of nowhere.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I typically learn from reading. However, I learned to ramp up my sense of humor (or narrators).

Do you have any advice for other writers? Yes: never give up. But you’ve heard that one before. And…it would be nice to have more Urban Fantasies with male protagonists. We don’t have enough. Wink Wink.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? There are hidden jokes in everything I write. I will never tell; they are there to guess. I want to extend the humorous first person narrative to you. Even if fantasy isn’t your cup of tea. I’d like to thank those that keep the belief of reading as a golden value.

Do you have a blog/website? if so what is it? atwaterwriting.com

Thank you so much for the interview. I hope the launch of your new book goes well and we hope to hear from you again. Keep us posted on how things go!

 

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Alvin Atwater

Leave a Reply

