Books 2016

Every year around this time I post a list of all the books I’ve read in the past year. And every year I want to do more.

old-books-436498_960_720I’ve continued to read Daily Science Fiction. I can’t get enough of those short, entertaining stories. I tried to keep up with Every Day Fiction as well but they’ve had some serious server problems and are just now getting back to daily stories. There’s also Flash Fiction Online, Nightmare Magazine, and Lightspeed Magazine to name a few of the online ezines I’ll read from time to time. I’ve also picked up hard copies of the Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. None of those are mentioned below.

What follows is my list of novels, ebooks, and short story collections that I’ve read in the past calendar year (in no particular order)


Mike Wech: Seven X:Seed of Demons

Inklings Press: Tales From the Mist

Inklings Press: Tales From Alternate Earths

Iain Robb Wright: Sea Sick

Bram Stoker: Dracula

John W. Smith: Nightmares of a Madman

Ray Wenck: Random Survival

Philip K. Dick: The Variable Man 

Ben Bova: The Craft of Writing Science Fiction That Sells

Vince Churchill: The Butcher Bride 

Neil Gaiman: The Graveyard Book 

Luke Smitherd: He Waits 

Mark Pannebecker: Fraternity of Fractures 

Mort Castle: On Writing Horror 

Sinister Grin Press: Cut Corners Vol. 1 

Stephen King: Revival

Maria Haskins: Dark Flash 

Mary Shelley: Frankenstein 


Looking back at what I’ve read, it’s a mix of indie authors and classics as well as a couple books on writing. I’ve discovered I don’t really like “Dracula” as much as I’d hoped. However I did enjoy “Frankenstein” quite a bit. Both are far different than any movie version.

Other than the short story collections from Inklings Press, I think the other stand outs for me were Ian Robb Wright and Maria Haskins. I loved the pace and tone of Wright’s “Sea Sick” and look forward to reading more of his work. Maria Haskins has a written voice that I find engaging. More of her work is certainly on my “to read” list.

None of the books above were bad at all, which was a surprise. Normally there are a few with serious problems or weren’t quite my taste. All of the books I’ve read in the past year are worth your time (and money) to read.

Have you read any of these? Which ones stand out for you? Any books I need to read in 2017? Leave a comment below and share your thoughts and recommendations.

 

Leave a Reply

