Author Spotlight: Michelle Murray

In my continuing series presenting new and emerging authors, I present author Michelle Murray.


Author Spotlight: Michelle Murray

miranda-cospaly-casey-2Today I’m fortunate to present Michelle Murray author of The Dream Walker Land of Mystica series and Rainbows and Dreams.

Hi Michelle, thanks for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

I am a working mother of two fine young men, one in college, and the other in high school. I started writing myself in high school. A number of my poems and short stories won awards, and were published in anthologies. I was even featured in Whos Who Among American Poets. I’ve always enjoyed fantasy, and children. I combined my two loves, and Dream Walker was born. Rainbows and Dreams is a collection of some of my poetry.

 

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since high school.

 

What inspired you to start writing?

The freedom of expression, the ability to write down my feelings and thoughts with no judgement, no talking back. The ability to create worlds, feelings, moods from a pen and paper. There is magic in that, taking words and painting a picture.

 

Tell us a little bit about your current project. Is it a novel, short story, or something else? Is it part of a series?

I have a couple projects in the works, one is a sequel to Dream Walker’s Destiny, and one is a prequel called Lighting’s Journey. I also work on my poetry from time to time.

 

What genre do you prefer to write in, if any?

I prefer fantasy and poetry. I can’t pick between the two, they both have a hold on me.

 

What authors influenced you?

I love the classics, and believe we can learn much from them as authors and readers. Shakespeare, Mark Twain, JRR Tolkien, have always inspired and influenced me.

 

What are you currently reading?

Right now, nothing. If you know some good poetry or fantasy, please feel free to recommend some.

 

Do you write every day? A few days per week?

I try to write at least two times a week, but it doesn’t always go that way. I’m really trying to get more of a schedule down for my writing, this is one of my goals for this year.

 

Do you listen to music when your write?

Unless you count teenagers, computers, tvs and regular household noises music, no I do not listen to music when I write.

 

How do you think your writing has changed from when you first started?

I started with poetry and short stories, and evolved into a novel. I created characters, a world, and gave more detail than a poem or short story would. I went back and added chapters, tweaked descriptions, and just kept filling in the gaps in the story so to speak. I have learned to rewrite things and change my sentence structure.

 

How do you create covers for your books?

51blfiktrrlI hire someone to do that for me. Generally I have an idea what I want, and I describe it. The artist usually sends me a couple different pictures to choose from based on that description. For my sequel Dream Walker’s Fight, I want Miranda in or around some clouds with a dark presence haunting her.

 

Are there any nonliterary influences for your writing?

I am inspired by nature. The trees, the clouds, the sky, rainbows and butterflies. I love to go for walks and see what will inspire me! Movies tend to be the same stuff sequel and reboots so I don’t find a lot of inspiration there.

 

What is your favorite book and why?

I don’t really have a favorite book, as I said before I love the classics. I also enjoy Robin Hobb, Margaret Weiss, and Collen Huck.

 

How do you market your books?

This is a challenge. I used to post on Facebook and Twitter but I think people were getting tired of that. I contact bloggers, reviewers, do author interviews. I try to do things besides just saying “buy my book.” I have gone to the girl scouts, boys and girls club, and donated books to the libraries and other organizations. I would like to do more of this, but seem to be hitting a snag in these plans.

 

Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

I have been posting on my Facebook excerpts from Dream Walkers Fight, stay tuned for more!

 

Where can we purchase your current book? What about previous books?

All three Dream Walker Land of Mystica Series books are available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble online. Rainbows and Dreams is available for Kindle only at this time.

Amazon: The Dream Walker

Amazon: The Dream Walker Returns

Barnes and Noble: The Dream Walker

Barnes and Noble: The Dream Walker

 

Where can we find you online?

You can find me at Facebook.

My website.

You Tube.

Twitter.

GoodReads.

 

If you’re an indie author, what made you choose that route?

I knew Dream Walker was special, and a good story. I wanted to get it out there, I didn’t realize how much work or what I was getting into. I have been lucky it’s been finding an audience and readers are enjoying it!

 

Any parting words for writers?

Keep at it! Keep writing, keep submitting just keep trying!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Author Spotlight: Michelle Murray

  1. Pingback: Author Spotlight: Michelle Murray | michellemurrayauthor

Leave a Reply

