Author Spotlight: Myrod Byers

Today’s “Author Spotlight” is Myrod Byers, author of the memoir “The Literary Works of Me.”


Author Spotlight: Myrod Byers

 

Hi Myrod, thanks for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

Hello my name is Myrod Byers. I was born in 1968. Grew up in rural Indiana, Mt.Vernon, New Harmony. Was born into Islam. My father was a shoe repairman. Enlisted into the US Navy after High School where i served for 7 years. Went to USI to study Social Work. I have 3 brothers/3 Sisters. Have worked in manufacturing for the last 23 years. Have 4 children. 3 boys and 1 Girl.

 

How long have you been writing?

I actually have only been writing since 2013.

 

What inspired you to start writing?

I am not sure as to what inspired me to write. I woke up one morning and started to write. Maybe it was something spiritual, although I am not a spiritual person.

 

Tell us a little bit about your current project. Is it a novel, short story, or something else? Is it part of a series?

My current published project is a memoir. It is a collection of personal thoughts on a variety of different topics from life to death, success to failures, and from friendships to enemies.

 

What genre do you prefer to write in, if any?

I like to write memoirs. I like the aspect of inspiring people. Try to make a change for the better in one’s life for the better.

 

What authors influenced you?

I like Edgar Allan Poe, Emily Dickinson, Dan Brown, and Robert Ludlow.

 

What are you currently reading?

Dan Brown’s “Inferno.”

 

Do you write every day? A few days per week?

My writing comes in spurts. I have 2 completed memoirs and I am also working on my first novel.

 

Do you listen to music when you write? Does it influence how you write?

I actually don’t listen to music when I am writing. I just have a literary flow in my head. I write until it runs out.

 

How do you think your writing has changed from when you first started?

When I first started writing, I wrote about different topics. Now I have fine tuned my writing where I focus on 1-2 key topics.

 

How do you create the covers for your books?

41e2pe0mtlI have only published one book. The publishing company designed my book cover for me.

 

Are there any non-literary influences for your writing (movies, actors, music, etc)?

Actually I like DL Hughley and Joey Zsa Zsa as they have personally supported my book.

 

 

What is your favorite book and why?

My favorite book is “Nightmares and Dreamscapes” by Stephen king. I like it because of the short story format. I loved “Dolan’s Cadillac.”

 

How do you market your books?

I mainly market my book through Facebook and through various local book signings.

 

Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

Sure.

Lots of people not only think within the box, But they live also live within the box. Therefore, they are limiting their own potential in dealing with life skills.

 

Where can we purchase your current book? What about previous books?

My current book can be purchased from me directly and also on my publishers website www.tatespublishing.com, Barnes & Noble, or Amazon.

 

Where can we find you online?

I am on Facebook as Myrod L Byers, also have a book page on Facebook titled The Literary Works of Me- Myrod L Byers. I am on Twitter as Slimboi68, also I am on Instagram as Nerdyauthor68.

 

If you’re an indie author, what made you choose that route?

I am not an indie author on this book, But I plan on being one on my upcoming books. I feel i have a great support team in place.

 

Any parting words for writers?

I can only say if you want to do it, do it. Don’t give up on your dreams. You may impact someone’s live in a way you never thought of.

 

Leave a Reply

