Just Finish Already!

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: FINISH YOUR STORY! Get to the end, no matter how good that end is. Finish the dang thing already, will ya?

I don’t know how many times I’ve heard from writers or would-be writers about how they’ve gotten so far into a story and can’t finish. Or how they’ve started umpteen stories and haven’t finished a single one.

I get it, kinda. Writing sucks at times. A great idea loses some of its vitality when it goes from a fluid impression in your mind to hard, unyielding words on a screen or paper. When you see the dark print staining the white screen, they’re real. They’re mocking. They tell you “Hey, psst, you can’t do this. You can’t finish. Why bother? Who’s gonna read it anyway?”

Don’t listen to them! Honestly, don’t. They’re bad. They want to suck the life out of you. Think vampire, but worse cause they won’t let you sparkle.

wrestlers-646524_960_720What to do instead? Sneer at them. Thumb your nose at them. Show them who’s boss by adding more words until…until the end. Don’t let them linger like a bad odor. Spray febreeze on those things and own ’em. This is no holds barred, super-ultra-submission kinda stuff. If you can’t handle it, maybe you ought to rethink what you’re doing.

I don’t say that to be mean. I want you to finish your stories probably more than you do! I want you to be proud of what you’ve accomplished. I know that feeling. It rocks! I want you to rock too! They’re called rock bands, not rock individuals. But if the thought of finishing a story scares you–

Look, you don’t have to listen to me. Who am I to give advice anyway? I understand. I wouldn’t listen to me either to be honest. I tend to make my own path when it’s clearly been marked and paved, but hey, such is life.

So if you don’t listen to me, listen to that tiny voice in your mind reminding you to finish that story. It’s right you know. You need to buckle down and get to work. Your story is your story, know what I mean? Only you can tell it like you tell it.

The sense of accomplishment when the story is over is amazing. I want you to experience that, because it’s addictive. Of all the things in this world to get addicted to, I think this is one your doctor will be cool with.

So for the last time: FINISH THE DAMN STORY!

One thought on “Just Finish Already!

  1. Pingback: (Almost) Average August Recap | (Almost) Average

Leave a Reply

